Staff, Teaching Artists, & Board


Staff and Teaching Artists


Matt Mason
Matt-No-BackgroundNWC Executive Director

Matt Mason has been Executive Director of the NWC since 2009, greatly expanding the reach of its Poets On Loan program while adding an Omaha affiliate of Chicago’s Louder Than a Bomb youth poetry festival to the lineup. He excels at coordinating large projects and at recruiting professionals and volunteers to the causes the Nebraska Writers Collective. This work earned him a 2014 Governor’s Arts Award in the Emerging Leader category.

Matt has been a Finalist for the position of Nebraska State Poet and was featured in Ted Kooser’s weekly newspaper column “American Life in Poetry.” He has been on six teams at the National Poetry Slam and has won a Pushcart Prize and two Nebraska Book Awards for his work. He was also tapped by the US Department of State to implement poetry programs in Nepal, Botswana, Belarus, and Romania.

In addition to his duties with the Nebraska Writers Collective, Matt has served as the president of the board of directors for the Nebraska Center for the Book and is the Nebraska State Coordinator for Poetry Out Loud, a poetry recital program sponsored by the Poetry Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts.


StaceyWaiteNoBackgroundStacey Waite
NWC Lincoln City Coordinator

Stacey Waite is Assistant Professor of English at the University of Nebraska—Lincoln and has published four collections of poems: Choke (winner of the 2004 Frank O’Hara Prize), Love Poem to Androgyny (winner of the 2006 Main Street Rag Chapbook Competition), the lake has no saint (winner of the 2008 Snowbound Prize from Tupelo Press), and Butch Geography (Tupelo Press, 2013). Waite’s poems have been published most recently in The Cream City Review, Bloom, Indiana Review, and Black Warrior Review. Waite is also the co-host of the radio podcast Air Schooner produced by Prairie Schooner.



Core Teaching Artists

Nicholas Bell

Nicholas Bell attended the University of Nebraska-Lincoln where he earned his BA in Creative Writing. He then went on to pursue his graduate degree in Charlotte, North Carolina at Queens University where he received an MFA in Poetry. He now works as the Community Outreach Coordinator for the Nebraska Writers Collective, where he serves as a Core Teaching Artist for the annual poetry festival Louder than a Bomb: Great Plains. He is also the program director of Writers’ Block, an NWC program offering poetry workshops to inmates in prisons throughout Nebraska.

Devel Crisp

Devel Crisp is a writer, spoken word artist, and actor who also serves as a creative consultant through his business E.O.M. Authentic. He has been with the NWC since 2013 when he coached the Omaha North Louder Than a Bomb: Great Plains team. He has extensive performance poetry experience, and has participated in the National Poetry Slam and in the Individual World Poetry Slam

Gina Keplinger

Gina Keplinger participated in LTAB as a student and has returned to coach teams after graduating as she pursues an English degree and the University of Nebraska at Lincoln. Her work has been published or is forthcoming in Black Heart Magazine, Laurus Magazine, and Leopardskin & Limes. She has competed at both the National Poetry Slam (NPS) and the College Unions Poetry Slam Invitational (CUPSI).

Pat McEvoy

Pat McEvoy has served as an NWC Teaching Artist since 2012 and has been a Core Teaching Artist for the past three years. He has extensive performance poetry experience, including competing on three teams at the National Poetry Slam. He has a B.A. in Political Science from the University of Nebraska at Lincoln.

Colleen O’Doherty

Colleen O’Doherty is working towards her MFA in Playwriting at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. She has her MA in Teaching from the College of Saint Mary. She has been teaching for three years and has taught with Omaha Public Schools and Millard Public Schools. She is a board member of SNAP Productions and has acted in many theaters around Omaha.


Board of Directors

Carolyn Anderson

Ayanna Boykins

Kiara Letcher

Tina Lonergan, Vice-President

Carol Kloss McClellan

Ana Palma, Secretary/Treasurer

Ferial Pearson

Bradley Watkins, President